Dr. Weinert Christoph

Akademischer Rat a.Z. - M.Sc. Business Informatics Specialist

Christoph Weinert studied Information Systems at the University of Bamberg. He was a research assistant at the Chair of Information Systems and Service from 2013 to 2018. Since then, he has been working in the research project "Centre for Human Resources Information Systems" (CHRIS). Within the CHRIS project, Dr. Weinert deals with the use of information systems to support human resources tasks and was, among other things, head of the study series "Recruiting Trends" and "Application Practice".

He completed his doctorate on "Coping with the dark side of Information technology" in 2018. The thesis was awarded the “Kulturpreis Bayern”. Since 2019 he is assistant professor at the chair of information systems and services.

His research deals with the "bright side" and "dark side" of IT usage, i.e. the positive and negative effects of IT usage and advancing digitalization. With regard to the "bright side", he is concerned with adoption, which encompasses the acceptance and use of IT by individuals and companies. Here he focuses on implicit affect/cognition and is particularly concerned with unconscious and habitual usage behavior. His focus on the "dark side" is, for example, on technostress and IT interruptions as well as on coping strategies.

In addition to empirical studies, his research focuses on experimental and longitudinal studies and increasingly uses objective measurement techniques (e.g. skin conductance, Implicit Attitude Test, time-based performance). His research contributions have been published at numerous international conferences (e.g., ICIS, ECIS, HCISS, WI, AMCIS, SIGMIS CPR, Gmunden Retreat on NeuroIS) and in journals (e.g., JMIS, ISJ, JAIS, BISE, JBEC, and ACM SIGMIS Database), among others.

He is involved in the IS community as a reviewer for prestigious IS journals (including ISJ, EJIS, BISE) and organized, chaired, and supported tracks at all major national and international information systems conferences (e.g., ICIS, ECIS, AMCIS, and WI). He is also currently a member of the Editorial Board of the Internet Research Journal.

In the context of university teaching, Dr. Weinert is currently responsible for and supports the Bachelor and Master modules "Digital experimentation", "Optimization of IT-Reliant Processes". Furthermore, he offers annual master and bachelor seminars and supervises student theses.

Awards

Dr. Weinert Christoph

Akademischer Rat a.Z. – M.Sc. Wirtschaftsinformatiker

Christoph Weinert studierte Wirtschaftsinformatik an der Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg. Er war von 2013 bis 2018 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Wirtschaftsinformatik, insb. Informationssysteme in Dienstleistungsbereichen. Seither arbeitet er im Forschungsprojekt „Centre for Human Resources Information Systems“ (CHRIS). Im Rahmen des CHRIS-Projekts befasst sich Herr Dr. Weinert mit dem Einsatz von Informationssystemen zur Unterstützung von Aufgaben des Personalwesens und war u.a. Leiter der Studienreihen „Recruiting Trends“ und „Bewerbungspraxis“.

Seine Promotion zum Thema „Coping with the dark side of Information technology” schloss er 2018 ab. Die Arbeit wurde mit dem Kulturpreis Bayern ausgezeichnet. Seit 2019 ist er akademischer Rat a.Z. am Lehrstuhl für Wirtschaftsinformatik, insb. Informationssysteme in Dienstleistungsbereichen.

Seine Forschung befasst sich mit der „bright side“ und „dark side“ von IT-Nutzung, also mit den positiven und negativen Auswirkungen von IT Nutzung und fortschreitender Digitalisierung. In Bezug auf die „bright side“ beschäftigt er sich mit der Adoption, welche die Akzeptanz und Nutzung von IT durch Individuen und Unternehmen umfasst. Hierbei legt er seinen Fokus auf implizite Affekte sowie Kognitionen (implicit affect/cognition) und befasst sich insbesondere mit unbewusstem und habituellem Nutzungsverhalten. Sein Fokus bei der „dark side“ liegt zum Beispiel auf technologiebedingtem Stress (technostress) und IT Interruptions sowie auf den passenden Bewältigungsstrategien (coping strategies).

In seinen Forschungsarbeiten setzt er neben empirischen Studien besonders auf experimentelle und longitudinale Untersuchungen und verwendet darüber hinaus vermehrt objektive Messtechniken (z.B. Hautleitfähigkeit, Implicit Attitude Test, time-based performance). Seine Forschungsbeiträge wurden unter anderem auf zahlreichen internationalen Konferenzen (z.B. ICIS, ECIS, HCISS, WI, AMCIS, SIGMIS CPR, Gmunden Retreat on NeuroIS) sowie in Journalen (z. B. ISJ, JAIS, BISE, JBEC und ACM SIGMIS Database) veröffentlicht.

Er engagiert sich in der IS-Community als Gutachter für renommierte IS-Zeitschriften (u.a. ISJ, EJIS, BISE) und organisierte, leitete und unterstützte Tracks auf allen großen nationalen und internationalen Wirtschaftsinformatik-Konferenzen (z. B. ICIS, ECIS, AMCIS und WI). Außerdem ist er derzeit Mitglied des Editorial Reviewer Boards des Internet Research Journals.

Im Rahmen der universitären Lehre verantwortet und unterstützt Herr Dr. Weinert aktuell die Bachelor- und Master-Module „Digital experimentation“, „Optimierung IT-lastiger Geschäftsprozesse“. Darüber hinaus bietet er jährliche Master- und Bachelorseminar an und betreut studentische Abschlussarbeiten.

Auszeichnungen